Three Ghosts of Halloween, Part II

The errands took way too long. Two simple errands should have taken only twenty minutes, but two hours later I was walking into the French Cafe straight in the middle of the lunchtime crowd. Waiting 10 minutes did not increase the prospect of securing a table so I just gave up and went home. I would have to resort to eating the leftovers from dinner last night.

As I neared the entrance to our subdivision, two police cruisers and a large blank van flew by with lights and sirens ablaze. Something big was happening to have the SWAT van going. The first thing I did when I got home is to flip on the small TV in the kitchen. Hopefully the news would have a live report on the hostage situation or standoff.

The 12 o’clock news was already in progress, thought the weather forecast was being provided at the moment. I had a moment to toss Adam’s leftover chicken Parmesan in the microwave. He probably wouldn’t care.

“Now, for some breaking news at the courthouse. Allison,” the news anchor said. The words “breaking news” instantly perked my interest.

“I’m here at the courthouse where I just learned the charges against all three ringleaders in last week’s homecoming party fiasco.” The reporter told the audience. “As you will remember, I reported last week about police breaking up a wild party where nearly the entire Jefferson High senior class were detained for underage drinking and trespassing. It appears the farm’s owner and the prosecutor agreed with the parents of the three girls that the two eighteen year olds and the one nineteen year old had been adequately punished and no further action was needed. The judge agreed only after a conference with the girl’s parents, and attorney’s in closed chambers. Here comes one of the fathers right now. Mr. Williams, how do you feel about the judge’s decision that allow your punishment to stand?”

“Her mother and I had a long discussion with our daughter and taught her a tough lesson in responsibility. Luckily the judge and prosecutor agreed that she was contrite and they dropped the charges on my promise of reinforcing that lesson tonight. And I damn well intend to.” The larger, gruff man told the reporter.

“Well good for you. I learned a few painful lessons from my father when I was a young adult and I hope it helps your daughter like it helped me. Janice, back to you in the studio.” The reporter told the news anchor.

“Thank you Allison. It is good to hear that some parents still want to parent and not be their child’s friend. My mother wouldn’t have cared had I been 8, 18 or 28. We probably would have had a similar discussion as those defendants. Too bad more parents don’t think that way anymore. Now on to sports. Jeff.” The pretty blonde anchor told the audience.

I changed the channel once I heard something about the world series. I don’t understand why or how Adam can spend hours watching sports. Maybe another channel would have the story about the police incident.

Ding! Lunch was ready. I grabbed a potholder and scooped up the cardboard container from the microwave. Hmmm, cheesy goodness.

“Now, for some breaking news at the courthouse. Allison,” I heard a female news anchor say behind me. With a fork in hand, I settled back on the counter stool to eat while watching the news.

“I’m here at the courthouse where I just learned the charges against all three ringleaders in last week’s homecoming party fiasco.” The reporter told the audience. She looked really similar to the reporter at the other station. Blonde hair, blue eyes, big boobs and a bright smile seems to be the only qualification needed to be a reporter anymore.

“As you will remember, I reported last week about police breaking up a wild party where nearly the entire Jefferson High senior class were detained for underage drinking and trespassing. It appears the farm’s owner and the prosecutor agreed with the parents of the three girls that the two eighteen year olds and the one nineteen year old had been adequately punished and no further action was needed. The judge agreed only after a conference with the girl’s parents, and attorney’s in closed chambers.”

This seems eerily familiar to the previous report. Even that guy coming up behind her looks familiar.

“Here comes one of the fathers right now. Mr. Williams, how do you feel about the judge’s decision that allow your punishment to stand?” The reporter asked.

“Her mother and I had a long discussion with our daughter and taught her a tough lesson in responsibility.” The large, gruff man stated.

That was exactly what he said last time. Is this the same channel? I pressed the info button on the remote, popping up the channel information onto the screen to confirm I had indeed changed the channel.

“Luckily the judge and prosecutor agreed that she was contrite and they dropped the charges on my promise of reinforcing that lesson tonight. And I damn well intend to.” The father stated.

What the hell? I just watched this report a few minutes ago. Have the local news really gotten that cheap that they are sharing staff? Or is someone trying to play a prank on everyone?

“Well good for you. I learned a few painful lessons from my father when I was a young adult and I hope it helps your daughter like it helped me. Janice, back to you in the studio.” The reporter told the news anchor.

Painful lessons? Is she trying to imply that poor girl was spanked for throwing a party? What brute! And the judge and prosecutor agreed with it? They are supposed to protect the innocent, not help them be victimized. They are just teenagers and they did something dumb. What is new? They don’t have to be beaten for it.

“Thank you Allison. It is good to hear that some parents still want to parent and not be their child’s friend. My mother wouldn’t have cared had I been 8, 18 or 28. We probably would have had a similar discussion as those defendants. Too bad more parents don’t think that way anymore. Now on to sports. Jeff.” The anchor told the audience.

And now the news anchor is supporting it also. Grounding her for a month would have worked just fine. I was never spanked and I turned out fine. Dumb right-wing bible thumping conservatives. Won’t they ever learn. Doubt they will ever learn.

Finishing lunch, I figured I might as well start the pumpkin pie. It’ll take a hour or something to cook and Adam had to have his pumpkin pie or he’d throw a hissy-fit. He can be such a frigging baby sometimes.

I grabbed the canned pumpkin, pumpkin spice, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, evaporated milk and eggs and started mixing everything in a big bowl. The orange gooey mixture filled two pre-made pie crusts; one for the party and one for Adam. I bet I can use the second one for leverage until Thanksgiving. Oven set at 375F, now I got an hour to relax.

6 thoughts on “Three Ghosts of Halloween, Part II

  1. Yes, you were right. I am terribly offended by her continued lack of enthusiasm for the most important holiday of the year. Your preemptive apology may or may not be accepted, depending on whether someone (and Adam seems a prime candidate) manages to teach her the true meaning of pumpkin pie 😉

    • LOL. I agree about the true meaning of pumpkin pie. I am though taking a guess you didn’t read that part very closely, or haven’t made pumpkin pie in a while. 🙂

      • The last time I made pumpkin pie it took about an hour to bake, though my oven is a little on the old side. I was actually alluding to a different issue, which causes trouble later.

  2. Pingback: Three Ghosts of Halloween, Part III | In Hushed Voices
  3. Pingback: Three Ghosts of Halloween, Part IV | In Hushed Voices

Leave a Reply

