Back to Basics

When I started this blog 8 months ago, it was to test a few theories that were being passed around work. The main premise was how a blog can create traffic. The social media guys kept talking about all these little tricks and hacks to generate more traffic while the marketing people kept saying you had to focus on message and carefully craft every word written. I thought they were both full of themselves, but I needed some data to back it up since my expertise is nether technical nor marketing.

Originally I started looking for other sources which had tested various theories on generating blog content in order to drive to visitors and engagement. The following week, I was sitting in a HR seminar on Emotional Intelligence and impactful communication when it struck me that I should just start a blog and do the simple, logical things to grow it.

Choosing a topic took a while since I first considered all the topics related to work, where I have an inherit expertise. I quickly dismissed that course of action, since I didn’t want colleagues to intentionally skew my data then claim it was worthless. Looking beyond work, it struck me that I should enjoy the topic otherwise it would be hard to keep the blog alive. The natural choice was “In Hushed Voices.”

When I first started writing, I tried to make three posts a week. This was a little ambitious, thought it is something I want to return to. I have been working on and off on a couple of the long-running series (Willow Groove in particular) and hope to be able to get a few new parts out soon. Those, coupled with a short (1-3 part) story and a personal thoughts post should allow me to maintain the three posts a week rate I had previously.

That all leads me to a new section of posts I’m going to call “Coffeemaker Conversations,” named after those quiet discussions you have with a close friend over a nice hot cup of coffee (or tea for our English friends).  These will be weekly posts on my opinion, information I find involving the spanking community or just questions for discussion. These are meant to have feedback so please contribute as you like.

Today’s Coffeemaker Conversations

Yesterday I was reading the Wall Street Journal and came across an article about the impact of parental yelling has on long-term child development. One point in the article it mentions the impact of yelling, or harsh verbal discipline, was more detrimental and harder to reverse than spanking, on an individual’s adult romantic relationships. This got me wondering if this same concept applied to adults, particularly married couples. Extrapolating the concept, does an intimate relationship founded on Domestic Discipline principles fare better in the long-term than those founded on verbal discipline principles. Particularly interesting was the long-term impact of the different forms of discipline, especially the finding that the conflict between participants of corporal punishment is eliminated with simple praising of successes which does not occur in verbal discipline situations.

So, what are your thoughts?

Side Note: Original Research Article mentioned in the WSJ article can be found here.

2 thoughts on “Back to Basics

  1. I read the same article as it happens, and I too found it interesting. To answer the question you asked …as I see it. I believe DD relationships would fare out an awful lot better. I married the wrong person myself, and you may not be surprised to hear their was a plenty of verbal diarrhoea shared when things heated up in our house. The DD couples have something to alleviate heated arguments and disagreements like this. I guess they have a better understanding.

    • Observing the various serious relationships I have seen fail over the years, most of them contained a strong verbal component and at times, clear tension between the couple.

      It does seem as if DD couples have a better understanding of their role and responsibilities within the relationship and probably more importantly, they understand the impact of not meeting their responsibilities. It is also much harder to rehash a physical punishment a week later than a verbal punishment.

Leave a Reply

